Grants and Grant Recipients | Page 6 | Aplastic Anemia and MDS International Foundation (AAMDSIF) Return to top.

Grants and Grant Recipients

For over 30 years, AAMDSIF has provided research grants totaling in excess of $5.5 million to an international group of more than 100 researchers to help advance the understanding and treatment of aplastic anemia , myelodysplastic syndromes (MDS), and paroxysmal nocturnal hemoglobinuria (PNH).

The two-year grants have helped bring forth new insights into the causes and therapeutic approaches for these diseases. These grantee profiles present the grantees by year the awards were granted, and a summary of their grant-funded research projects.

View a single grant year.

Grant Year: 2010

Lead Photo

Muneyoshi Futami, MD, PhD

Harold Spielberg Research Fund

Lead Photo

Ramon V. Tiu, MD

Torry Yahn Research Fund

Grant Year: 2009

Lead Photo

Regis Peffault deLatour, MD, PhD

PNH Research and Support Foundation

Lead Photo

Archibald S. Perkins, MD, PhD

Harold Spielberg Research Fund

Grant Year:

Simona Pagliuca, MD

Arthur Kunofsky Research Fund

RACE is a phase III randomized study initiated in 2015 whose aim was to evaluate whether the standard first-line therapy for severe aplastic anemia (anti-thymoglobuline and cyclosporine) could be improved by the addition of eltrombopag, a small molecule previously showing a promising effect in stimulating hematopoiesis.   The purpose of the present translational research was to understand how the aberrant immune response characterizing aplastic anemia could be modified by the introduction of eltrombopag.   RACE trial has recently concluded and results are under publication.