Leadership in Science | Aplastic Anemia and MDS International Foundation

Leadership in Science

Recipients are selected for their contributions to the fields of bone marrow failure disease treatment and/or research. Nominees are considered for their impact on patients and families affected by aplastic anemia, MDS and PNH, and/or their contributions through research to increasing knowledge and understanding about these diseases. Additional consideration is given to those who have demonstrated a commitment to AA&MDSIF.

Alan List, MD

List, Alan
President and CEO, Moffitt Cancer Center
Award Year: 

President and Chief Executive Officer of Moffitt Cancer Center, Dr. List is internationally recognized for his many contributions in the development of novel, more effective treatment strategies for myelodysplastic syndrome (

Leadership Award Type: 

Mikkael A. Sekeres, MD, MS

Sekeres, Mikkael
Associate professor of medicine and Director of the Leukemia Program, Cleveland Clinic Taussig Cancer Institute
Award Year: 

Dr. Sekeres is associate professor of medicine and Director of the Leukemia Program, Department of Hematologic Oncology and Blood Disorders with the Cleveland Clinic Taussig Cancer Institute, Ohio. He earned a medical degree and a master’s in clinical

Leadership Award Type: 

Richard Stone, MD

Stone, Richard
Clinical Director of the Adult Leukemia Program at the Dana-Farber Cancer Institute, Attending physician at Brigham and Women’s Hospital, and Associate Professor of Medicine at Harvard Medical School
Award Year: 

Dr. Stone cares for patients with acute and chronic leukemias, myelodysplasia and myeloproliferative disorders. Dr. Stone conducts clinical and translational research with the goal of deriving better outcomes for patients with these disorders. His laboratory research focuses on the mechanism of leukemic cell differentiation, with the ultimate goal of producing new cancer therapies.

Leadership Award Type: 

Jaroslaw Maciejewski, MD, PhD

Maciejewski, Jaroslaw
Chairman of Translational Hematology and Oncology Research at the Cleveland Clinic Taussig Cancer Institute, and a professor of medicine at Lerner College of Medicine at Case Western Reserve University
Award Year: 

Dr. Maciejewski is recognized for his leadership in finding better treatments and a cure for

Leadership Award Type: