Leadership in Science Award | Page 2 | Aplastic Anemia and MDS International Foundation (AAMDSIF) Return to top.

Leadership in Science Award

Recipients are selected for their unique contributions to bone marrow failure disease treatment or research and their commitment to the mission of AAMDSIF.

2007 Neal Young, MD

National Institutes of Health, National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute, Chief of the Intramural Research Hematology Branch

Dr. Young's research interests are in human hematopoiesis, aplastic anemia and the pathogenesis and treatment of
bone marrow failure; parvoviruses, hepatitis viruses, immune response to virus infection, apoptosis, interferon,
cytokines, and other interleukins, and the mechanisms of genomic instability. His research includes direct patient care
and clinical protocols for the treatment of bone marrrow failure; basic science laboratory experiments involving normal
and abnormal blood cell production; and epidemiologic studies of aplastic anemia.